Alliance Manchester Business School logo

Postgraduate Research Handbook

School PGR Committee

School PGR Committee

The Postgraduate Research Committee manages the Postgraduate Research Programmes in Alliance MBS. 


This committee is chaired by the Director of Postgraduate Research, Professor Anne McBride, who is responsible for the overall academic and strategic direction of the programme.

Other members of the Committee are:

Dr. Nooch Kuasirikun (Director, MRes Programme and RTP Programme)

Dr. Matthew Allen (Director, DBA Programme)

Helen McManamon (Manager, Doctoral Programmes)

Prof. Edward Lee (Accounting & Finance)

Dr. John Rigby (Innovation Management and Policy)

Dr. Emma Banister (Management Sciences and Marketing)

Dr. Stefania Marino (People, Management and Organisations)

Lynne Barlow-Cheetham (Secretary to the Committee)

Student Representative from the PGR Student Body, who is elected every year.


The Committee meets at regular intervals throughout the academic year, where it discusses and makes decisions on key issues affecting the Programme and its students and reports on University, Faculty and School-level news (such as changes to policy and processes). 

The Committee is also responsible for considering and granting approval for applications of changes to a student’s programme (e.g. change of supervisor, research title, mode of attendance, interruption, extension, fieldwork). Normally such applications are considered by the Chair of the Committee.  However, where serious cases arise, these are brought to the full Committee for consideration.

Schedule of Meetings 2018-19




Weds 17 Oct 2018

11am - 1pm

Room B2 AMBS East

Weds 6 Feb 2019

10am -12pm

Room tbc

Weds 8 May 2019

2pm - 4pm

Room tbc

Weds 26 June 2019

2pm - 4pm

Room tbc


Minutes of meetings are available on the AMBS Intranet: Committee Governance and Management