Alliance Manchester Business School logo

Postgraduate Research Handbook

Academic Management

Academic Management

The Postgraduate Research programmes in AMBS are managed by the Director of PGR Programmes, Professor Stuart Hyde, who is responsible for the overall academic and strategic direction of the programmes.  Stuart is assisted in managing the programmes by:

Dr. Nooch Kuasirikun who organises the PGR Research Training Programme and the MRes Management Programme

Dr. Matthew Allen, who directs the Doctor of Business Administration (DBA) programme. 

Helen McManamon, who manages the administration of PGR programmes and general support for all PGR students.


Professor Stuart Hyde

Director of Postgraduate Research Programmes

Telephone: 0161 275 4017, 

Email: Stuart.Hyde@manchester.ac.uk,

Location: Room M27, AMBS Crawford


Dr. Matthew Allen

Director of the DBA Programme

Telephone: 0161 306 3469, 

Email: matthew.allen@manchester.ac.uk

Location: Room E8, AMBS East 

 

Dr Nooch Kuasirikun

Director of the MRes Programme and Research Training Programme

Telephone: 0161 306 5880, 

Email: Nooch.Kuasirikun@manchester.ac.uk

Location: Room 2.9, AMBS Crawford

Ray Walmsley

Head of PGR Services and Strategic Projects

Telephone: 0161 275 0537, 

Email: Ray.Walmsley@manchester.ac.uk,

Location:  Room D18, AMBS East

   

Helen McManamon

Manager, Doctoral Programmes

Telephone: 0161 306 3496, 

Email: Helen.McManamon@manchester.ac.uk,

Location: Room D18, AMBS East


Alliance MBS is organised into four divisions, each having an academic member of staff known as the Associate Head for PGR.  The Associate Heads are involved in all aspects of PGR activity within the Division, for example, recruitment, induction and progress monitoring. 


Accounting & Finance (A&F)

Professor Edward Lee (Accounting)

Telephone: 0161 275 4564, 

Email: Edward.Lee@manchester.ac.uk,

Location: Room M26, AMBS Crawford

   

Accounting & Finance (A&F)

Dr. Maria Marchica (Finance)

Telephone: 0161 275 0121, 

Email: Maria.Marchica@manchester.ac.uk,

Location: Room M40, AMBS Crawford


Innovation, Management and Policy (IMP)

Dr. John Rigby

Telephone: 0161 275 7800, 

Email: John.Rigby@manchester.ac.uk,

Location: Room 1.4, AMBS Denmark Building


Management Sciences and Marketing (MSM)

Dr. Kathy Keeling

Telephone: 0161 306 3519, 

Email: kathy.keeling@manchester.ac.uk,

Location: Room G3A, Sackville Street Building 


People, Management & Organisations (PMO)

Dr. Anne McBride

Telephone: 0161 275 5863, 

Email: Anne.McBride@manchester.ac.uk 

Location: Room E26, AMBS East


All divisions include a number of Research Centres and groups which bring together researchers with common interests, co-ordinate research activities for staff, and manage the research environment for students. All members of academic staff are members of a Research Centre.  Doctoral students are also members of (at least one) research centre and can take part in activities arranged by that centre.